Help Center

๐Ÿ™

How to use social Sessions with friends, colleagues or family

Social Sessions are a great way to focus together and unplug via Opal. When you are you in a Social Session, you and your Friends will block apps and focus together. If an attendee leaves the Session, you will know. This accountability helps everyone involved. Here are a few popular ways this feature is used:

  • Couples who want to reclaim their time together
  • Coworkers who are working through an important deadline
  • Students working on a project or studying together

How to create a Socialย Session

To create a Social Session on Opal, you'll need to create a "Block Now" Session from the "Home" or "Blocks" tab using the instructions here. Please note that the Session must be a "Timeout" or "Normal" Session, as you can not edit or share a "Deep Focus" Session. Once the Session is running, follow these steps to share:

  • Tap the arrow icon in the upper left corner
  • Share the invite link with your Friends
  • When Friends join, you will see them appear in the Session

How to join a Socialย Session

Anyone can join a Social Session. Once someone creates a Social Session, they can invite you to it by sharing the invite link. When you click on an invite link, you will immediately join the Social Session with your friends, and you will be asked to select which apps you want to block during the Session. If you don't have Opal installed, you will be asked to download the Opal app, and go through a simple onboarding process (without a paywall! It's free) to set you up. Once that's complete, you will join the Session with your Friends.

That's it!ย If you're having troubles with our Social Sessions, please let us know using the instructions here.

Relevant Articles