Help Center

How to use App Limit

Opal's App Limit feature allows you to block apps and/or websites automatically once you’ve used them for a specified amount of time daily. They work separately from your Sessions and App Lock to give you an added layer of protection.

How does App Limit Work?

When you reach your time limit on certain apps and/or websites, they will be blocked for a duration you set. On that note, it's important to note that App Limits are cumulative. For example, if you set a 30-minute App Limit for Instagram and TikTok, that means if you spend 20 minutes on one and 10 minutes on the other, your 30-minute limit has been reached, and both apps will be blocked. If you'd prefer to have 30 minutes on each app, you will need to set up individual an App Limit for each app.

How To Set Up a New App Limit

To set up a new App Limit Session, follow these steps:

  • Open the Opal app
  • Tap on the "Blocks" tab
  • Tap on the "+" icon in the top right corner
  • Tap "App Limit"
  • Type in a name by tapping the pen adjacent to "My App Limit"
  • Input the maximum time length and days of the week the limit is applicable via "Reach Time Limit"
  • Select the apps and/or websites via "On these apps"
  • Tap "Block Apps for..." and input how long apps will be blocked once your time limit is reached
  • Select your "Difficulty" level
  • Tap "Save"

What if I need to edit my App Limit?

If you need to edit an App Limit, you may only do so before your daily App Limit has been reached. Here's how:

  • Open the Opal app
  • Tap on "Blocks"
  • Select the active App Limit
  • Make your changes
  • Tap "Save" or "Remove Limit"

Please note that you will be unable to edit an existing App Limit if you've already reached your daily App Limit and that App Limit is set to "Deep Focus." If you have already reached your daily App Limit and your limit is set to "Deep Focus," we'd recommend editing that App Limit the following day.

What if I need to access an app and/or website that’s locked via "Deep Focus"?

If you've hit your daily App Limit and require emergency access to an app that is blocked, Opal can grant you a single-use key that you are able to use only once per week. Here's how to disable an App Limit in the event of an emergency:

  • Open the Opal App
  • Tap on your "Settings" (accessible from the top right corner of your "Profile" tab)
  • Tap on "FAQs"
  • Tap on "Advanced Features"
  • Tap on "Change running Deep Focus Session"
  • Tap "here" to cancel your running session

Remember, canceling a "Deep Focus" Session should be done sparingly and only in cases where it is necessary, as the single-use unlock key is only available once per week. Once that Session has been canceled, navigate back to your Session and edit away. Please be advised that if you've already used your weekly single-use unlock key to cancel a "Deep Focus" Session, our Support team is unable to force end the Session for you. For that reason, we recommend only using a single-use unlock key in a true emergency.

Please note that if you're currently in an App Limit with a blocked domain within the App Group, we disable Private Browsing so you are unable to bypass our restrictions and access the site(s) you've blocked via Private Browsing. Additionally, you will be unable to tap "Clear History and Website Data" while in those Sessions. This will occur regardless of if you have "Adult Blocking" toggled to the on or off position.

That's It! If You Have Any Issues With an App Limit, Please Follow The Steps Here To Troubleshoot.

Relevant Articles