Help Center

πŸ’‘

How to use Sessions

Sessions are an integral feature of Opal. They allow you to block apps and websites you find distracting for a scheduled period of time. All Opal gems can set up a scheduled session up to 24 hours in advance. Gems who’ve upgraded to Opal Pro can set recurring sessions (on a weekly schedule) and sessions starting more than 24 hours in advance.

How do IΒ add a Session?

To add a Session, click on the "+" icon in the upper right corner of the "Blocks" tab. Once you’ve selected your "Block Now" or "Recurring Session" type, you will have three protection level options available, including:

  • Normal: You can snooze and cancel this session. This difficulty offers basic protection.
  • Timeout: This setting offers increasing delays before you can snooze again.
  • Deep Focus (available only on Opal Pro): You can’t snooze or end the session early.

Once you’ve selected your "Session Difficulty," you can edit the following information about your Session by clicking on the editing icons:

  • The name of your event
  • "Apps Blocked"
  • "Difficulty"
  • The specific time your Session runs
  • The "Days of week active"
  • Once that is complete, tap "Save"

How Can I Edit Or Cancel My Session?

Do you need to modify or cancel your ongoing Session? Here's how:

  • From your Opal "Home" tab, tap on your ongoing Session
  • At the bottom on the right-hand side, tap on "..." or "Leave Early"

What if I need to access an app that’s locked via "Deep Focus"?

If you require emergency access to an app that is blocked, Opal can grant you a single-use key that you are able to use only once per week. Here's how to disable a "Deep Focus" Session in the event of an emergency:

  • Open the Opal App
  • Tap on your "Settings" (accessible from the top right corner of your "Profile" tab)
  • Tap on "FAQs"
  • Tap on "Advanced Features"
  • Tap on "Change running Deep Focus Session"
  • Tap "here" to cancel your running session

Remember, canceling a "Deep Focus" Session should be done sparingly and only in cases where it is necessary, as the single-use unlock key is only available once per week. Once that Session has been canceled, navigate back to your Session and edit away. Please be advised that if you've already used your weekly single-use unlock key to cancel a "Deep Focus" Session, our Support team is unable to force end the Session for you. For that reason, we recommend only using a single-use unlock key in a true emergency.

Please note that if you're currently in a Session with a blocked domain within the App Group, we disable Private Browsing so you are unable to bypass our restrictions and access the site(s) you've blocked via Private Browsing. Additionally, you will be unable to tap "Clear History and Website Data" while in those Sessions. This will occur regardless of if you have "Adult Blocking" toggled to the on or off position.

That's it! If you have any issues with your Sessions, please follow the steps here to troubleshoot.

Relevant Articles